Tone Up, Toronto!

On a personal note…

2 Comments

My Nana and I

My Nana and I

This website is meant to be motivational. To encourage its readers, as well as myself, to exercise every day, eat well, and follow the latest health information, but recently I haven’t felt like doing any of that.

My 93-year-old grandmother, Muriel (Nana), died last Tuesday. It was exactly a month and a day after her husband, my grandfather Laurie, passed away. I believe that they have been reunited by death, but I’m still having a very hard time with it. I have not felt like writing, let alone exercising or eating healthy food and it is starting to show. My skin is pale and splotchy (part of that is from crying), I’m getting winded doing small tasks like shovelling, and my jeans are tight.

I was hoping to reach out to the community of followers of this website. Do you have any suggestions for how to get my motivation to take care of myself back after two big losses? There is also some family drama that is weighing heavy on my mind and making me feel like curling up under a blanket with a bucket of coconut milk ice cream rather than go down the cold basement and leave all the stress on the treadmill.

I’ve been doing my yoga daily, but even that has been halfhearted. I feel very bizarre admitting my struggle in this manner, but I really need to start eating well again and exercising regularly and figured that their must be someone out there who has gone through something similar and could offer me some encouragement or advice.

– Kendall

2 thoughts on “On a personal note…

  1. Hello Kendall,
    I’m no expert, but I think what you are doing about admitting your sadness is the first step to getting your motivation back. You need time just to be with family and friends to help deal with all of your emotions. My suggestion is to just get out of the house and do something with your family and friends. This way you can distance yourself, but still, be able to work through everything.
    Also you made me think about what I need to do to get out of my slump.
    You are awesome!

Leave a Reply

